” just a piece of paper”

” It’s just a piece of paper.”

That right there, are words uttered to me quite a few times while engaged.

I would either: smile and nod ( awkward!) or, agree ( awkward!).

 

I feel so bad when I hear people say it. I remember thinking: “I don’t care if I get married…. ” but, that was the furthest from the truth. My husband and I talked about marriage after days of dating. I just wanted him to know that was my ultimate goal. I wanted to find a husband and father to our children and I wanted to do it in the way that God designed it to be. He agreed, he believed in marriage and family. Most importantly, we both we knew we needed marriage because God said we need it.

I pray for those who don’t believe in traditional marriage all the time. I don’t judge them for their beliefs or thoughts on marriage because we have all been there. And whose to know- maybe they just haven’t met ” the right one” to change their mind. Or maybe they just need to read the word of God, to see why it’s needed more than ever.

 

I’ve read the Word and came across a couple of powerful scriptures that back the case up more than I could ever do.

God created marriage. Here is a scripture on the first wedding.

Gen. 2:18, 21-24

The Lord God said, ‘It is not good for the man to be alone. I will make a helper suitable for him’…and while he was sleeping, he took one of the man’s ribs and closed up the place with flesh.

Then the Lord God made a woman from the rib he had taken out of the man, and he brought her to the man. The man said, ‘This is now bone of my bones and flesh of my flesh; she shall be called ‘woman,’ for she was taken out of man.’ For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and they will become one flesh. 

Also see:

Eph. 5:23

For a husband is the head of his wife as Christ is the head of his body, the church; he gave his life to be her Savior. As the church submits to Christ, so you wives must submit to your husbands in everything.

As my wonderful Pastor put it: The relationship between husband and wife illustrates the relationship between God and the church.

Now how’s that for it being a piece of paper?

There is nothing in the world like the devotion of a married woman. It’s a thing no married man knows anything about.  (Oscar Wilde)

Leave a Reply

